poem about my avatar

This night is not for sad souls such as I,

My hours underneath these stars are long,

A thousand lights of lust have passed me by

I do not know what I am doing wrong.

I think it is because I did not learn

The little lessons of deceit and guile,

The whirling of the skirt, the eyes that burn,

The rippling hair, the elemental smile.

Too late for me. I love my face too much

To sacrifice one angle or one line,

The truth will keep me from a lover’s touch,

And hold from me the shared glass of wine.

And yes, I wonder……have I chosen well?

I’ve kept the parts that are my very own.

Ah, had I bought the dream that vendors sell,

I do not know whose heart I might have won

Leave a Reply

