I have never read Snow Crash….

but I think I understand.

Last night I went dancing.  The music was lovely.  Jazz, I think, or Big Band.  My partner was Danish.  I’m not sure how old he was but he seemed…mature.  Prior to that I was at an oasis and I spoke with someone whose first language was Arabic.  He was half my age and he knew nothing about camels.  He said I seemed old.  My skin is flawless but my hair is sometimes white, and I was wearing a garnet colored dress from a bygone era.  And, oh yes, a Mary Poppins hat with a veil.  He was most likely looking for someone younger but he was polite.  I doubt that we shall meet again.

Leave a Reply

